NHS Officers 2022-2023 

    President--Hayleigh Hankins
    Vice President--N'Kyah Kendrick
    Parliamentarian--BriAngela Hopkins
    Secretary-- Erin Lollis

    Historian--Christen Harris

    NHS Members 2022-2023 

    Hayleigh Hankins
    Christen Harris
    BriAngela Hopkins
    Jakira Hunt
    N'Kyah Kendrick
    Erin Lollis
    Kai Owens
    Auiyhna Scott
    Mikayla  Spencer
    DeMarcus  Thomas

    Selection Procedure

    The National Honor Society chapter of Terry High School is a duly chartered and affiliated chapter of this prestigious national organization. Membership is open to those students who meet the required standards in four areas of evaluation: scholarship, service, leadership, and character. Students are selected for membership each spring by majority vote of a five-member, principal-appointed faculty council, which bestows this honor upon qualified students on behalf of the faculty of our school.

    Students in grades 10-12 are eligible for membership. For the scholarship criterion, a student must have a cumulative GPA of 3.8 or better on a 4.0 scale. Each spring, those students who feel they meet this criterion are to complete a Candidate Form that provides the faculty council with information regarding the candidate’s leadership and service.  

    To evaluate a candidate’s character, the faculty council uses two forms of input. First, school disciplinary records are reviewed. Second, members of the faculty are solicited for input regarding their professional reflections on a candidate’s service activities, character, and leadership.

    Any solicited faculty input and all Candidate Forms are carefully reviewed by the faculty council to determine membership. A majority vote of the council is necessary for selection. Candidates are notified regarding selection or non-selection according to a predetermined schedule.

    Following notification, a formal induction ceremony is held at the school to recognize all the newly selected members. Once inducted, new members are required to maintain the same level of performance (or better) in all four criteria that led to their selection.

                                 Click Here to find the candidate form in order to be considered for membership